Rock Paper Glacier?

Franz Josef Gl, NZ

Franz Josef Gl, NZ

Someone asked me recently, “Why is your blog called Rock Paper Glacier?”

I thought of the name while I was on the verge of falling asleep one night, thinking about all the photos I have of glaciers and glacial geology and wanting to share them in a blog, but I needed a good name, something people would remember if I met them on a trail or at a conference.  I was seriously groggy by the time I thought of “rock, paper, glacier” and had to force myself out of bed to write it down.  Once I had that name, I couldn’t fall back asleep.  I just kept thinking of how I would set up the blog and what information I could offer.  The name makes sense to me because I write papers about the rocks that glaciers left behind.

This weekend marks the one-year anniversary of this blog’s existence and I’m going to celebrate by finding new places to add to my western Maine Ice Age trail!  Let me know if you find any good ones in your area.

2 responses to “Rock Paper Glacier?

Leave a Reply

