Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge

Carson

Whenever I convince myself that going out into the cold, wintery wind is a good idea, I am rewarded with sights, smells, and sounds that I could not get from the warmth of my house.  Although I grew up in Maine, I’ve only been to the coast in the winter twice, and I love that it looks worlds different from it’s summer appearance.  The sea spray frost, the dark high-tide mark, the birds and people are different, and the pebbles freeze together in some places so they don’t shift under your feet.  The beach faces are steeper from the winter storms and above all, I am amazed at how ducks can survive here in these turbulent, icy waves.

This weekend, a friend of mine and I went to the Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge and it was beautiful!  The rocks were amazing!  The wind made her cry!  And the objective was met; we saw a Snowy Owl.  It was a great day, reaffirming that I need to visit beautiful places more often in the winter.

Leave a Reply

