Where do you go on holiday?

nzglaciallakealice

My climbing partner was the Christmas holiday warden at French Ridge Hut in 2010, and I had full intentions of visiting her, but the large rain event raised the rivers and washed out the road, and the thought of me crossing high rivers on my own for the first time with a loaded pack kept me out of the hills.  Once her warden duties finished, we instead took a jet boat up the Wilkin and started hiking to Top Forks Hut.  The ultimate goal was glacial lake Lucidus (pictured above with the proximal side of the left-lateral moraine wall in the background) because I like to plan my holidays around significant glacial geology sites.  I imagine years from now, piling my future kids into a car so we could follow Maine’s Ice Age Trail.  Sounds good to me!

Leave a Reply

