This is what I want to be

leopardsealskull

I was 21 years old when I assisted in my first, real, scientific field research in Antarctica.  I had no idea if I would be strong enough to carry the equipment, fit enough to hike the mountains, tough enough to sleep in a tent for 6 weeks, or prepared to be away from my family for months.  Turns out, not only was I ready, I thrived in the field.  I’m not saying I’m the strongest or the best assistant, but through this experience, I gained confidence in myself and found a new passion.

I took this photograph one night during my routine after-dinner walk.  My hand and digging spoon are used for scale with which to compare the Leopard Seal’s teeth and skull.  I thought I had found a dinosaur, I could not believe the teeth!

Leave a Reply

