Work hard, play hard

NZJumbolandFlat

I tramped (hiked) with a friend up Jumboland Flat to visit Top Forks Hut and the surrounding area (including glacier-fed lakes).  She and I met in an Alpine Instruction Course in 2009 where we learned basic glacier travel and winter camping skills.  It was during the course that I began to see the Kiwi version of ‘work hard, play hard’.  Instead of spending the weekend doing laundry or visiting the farmers market, these folks were mountaineering and adventuring every chance they got.  I was told that if I wanted to find a Kiwi in Maine, I should go where the adventures are.

Leave a Reply

